Blog details
Blog details

About the Island of Hvar

Published by   Hotel Park
Published:   2020-08-25  |   Updated:   2020-09-03

Hvar is the longest island in the Adriatic Sea, and is adorned with untouched nature and archaeological remains. The island of Hvar is divided into 4 administrative parts: the town of Hvar, Stari Grad, the municipality of Jelsa and the municipality of Sućuraj.



The archeological site of Grapčeva špilja near Humac testifies that the island of Hvar was inhabited approximately 7000 years ago. Around 384 BC. Kr. Greek colonizers from the island of Paros founded the city of Faros on the area of today's Old City.

Throughout the history of the island, the population has always been engaged in fishing and agriculture, and since 1868 it has been engaged in tourism. Tourists are most attracted by untouched nature, local food, sunny weather, entertainment and historical and cultural sights.



The Paklinski islands (group of smaller islands), the Cathedral of St. Stjepana, Fortica fortress, arsenal, theater (from the beginning of the 17th century, the oldest public theater in the world), Franciscan monastery (built in the 15th century) are landmarks of the Hvar. The procession "For the Cross" is a special notability of the island of Hvar, which is included in the UNESCO list of cultural heritage. The UNESCO list also includes Hvar's agave lace made by the nuns of the Benedictine monastery in Hvar. Tourists are also familiar with Hvar's "kale", narrow cobbled streets.



The Island of Hvar is the sunniest island in the Adriatic Sea, so many tourists come to enjoy the sun. Today, Hvar is recognized as a tourist destination, and in addition to cultural and historical values ​​and nature, Hvar offers places to have fun and entertainment. Everyone who visits Hvar is full of new experiences that they will remember forever.

Please contact us